Literary Prize Juries

2019  Anthony Burgess/ Observer Prize for Arts Journalism
2018  Glenna Luschei Prize for African Poetry
2018  The Queens Commonwealth Essay Competition
2018  Geneva Writers Prize (Switzerland)
2016  Guardian and 4th Estate BAME Short Story Prize
2016  The Goldsmiths Prize for innovative fiction
2016  The Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poets (USA)
2016  Chair: The Brunel (University) International African Poetry Prize (since 2012)
2015  Prairie Schooner First Book Prize (USA)
2015  Costa Best Novel Award & Costa Book of the Year
2015  First Story National Writing Competition
2014  OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature, Poetry (Trinidad)
2014  Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poets, USA
2013  Golden Baobab Prize, Ghana (Short stories for African children)
2013  Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poets (USA)
2012  Founder & Chair of the Brunel University African Poetry Prize
2012  The Poetry Society’s Poetry News competition
2012  Chair: The Caine Prize for African Fiction
2012  Chair: The Commonwealth Short Story Prize
2011  The Peacock Poetry Prize (Brighton Festival)
2010 TS Eliot Prize (Poetry)
2010 Alfred Fagan Award – (Black plays)
2010 Orange Award for New Writers (Women’s fiction)
2009 Muslim Writers Awards with Penguin (Fiction)
2008 Decibel Penguin Prize (Fiction)
2007 Northern Rock Writers’ Award  (Fiction & Poetry)
2006 The National Poetry Competition
2004 The Next Generation Top 20 List, organised by PBS and Poetry Society
1997  Ian St. James’ Award (Fiction)